CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Here you are welcome to discuss items of general interest related to Cast
User avatar
Warrior
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:19 am

CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by Warrior »

Hi Rob

Great program ;-)

I was wondering if it would be possible for CAST to play url's of podcasts or radio streams at all ?

Eg: Something from here : https://www.internet-radio.com/

Thanks for your time !

Rog ...
RobLatour
Site Admin
Posts: 1003
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:43 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by RobLatour »

You need to fiddle around with the url a bit, but yes you can do this.

First, you need to get the url, here is how you can do that:

On the internet-radio website, right click on a .pls link and select ‘Copy link address’

Once done the following will be put into your windows clipboard, for example:

Code: Select all

https://www.internet-radio.com/servers/tools/playlistgenerator/?u=http://us4.internet-radio.com:8266/listen.pls&t=.pls
next, paste that into some text file, and shorten the url to the portion in yellow below, also replacing the “.pls” with “.wav” so that

Code: Select all

https://www.internet-radio.com/servers/tools/playlistgenerator/?u=http://uk7.internet-radio.com:8226/listen.pls&t=.pls
becomes

Code: Select all

http://us4.internet-radio.com:8266/listen.wav
Finally, as an example, here’s the command I used to cast the station to my google home (named "Rob's office speaker")
(if you don’t supply the -device parm then it will cast to all your devices (except your PC speakers)

Code: Select all

cast -device "Rob's office speaker" -url “http://us4.internet-radio.com:8266/listen.wav”
Please note the quotes around the url are important.

Also, its the first few numbers and letters between the http:// and .internet radio that seems to select the particular station to stream.

Hope this helps.

Rob
User avatar
Warrior
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:19 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by Warrior »

Hi Rob.

Thanx for the reply. ;)

I tried your example above but get an error message for it (without the device parm)

I tried :

cast -url “http://us4.internet-radio.com:8266/listen.wav

But it returns ...

Warning: url value must end with: ".mp3", ".mp4", or ".wav"; switch will be ignored
Error: invalid switch: -radio.com:8266/listen.wav"

I don't think it likes the hyphen (?). I use Win 7 x64 and from a command line.

Also, the forum has truncated your above example.

https://www.internet-radio.com/servers/ ... pls&t=.pls

However, if you use the CODE tags, it won't do that.

Thus:

Code: Select all

https://www.internet-radio.com/servers/tools/playlistgenerator/?u=http://uk7.internet-radio.com:8226/listen.pls&t=.pls
Edit - I've been messing with Push2Run and will post some Cards here.

Rog ...
RobLatour
Site Admin
Posts: 1003
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:43 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by RobLatour »

Hi Warrior,

Thanks for the tip re the code tag.

The following works fine for me:

Code: Select all

cast -url “http://us4.internet-radio.com:8266/listen.wav”
The error that you get reported is exactly what you would get if you don't surround the actual url with quotes. Can you double check that you have done that?
User avatar
Warrior
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:19 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by Warrior »

I did have it is quotes :
Cast.jpg
Cast.jpg (36.6 KiB) Viewed 7357 times
RobLatour
Site Admin
Posts: 1003
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:43 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by RobLatour »

Can you please check that you are using the most current version of the program, version 1.2, release July 21, 2018 which was downloaded from the website - https://www.rlatour.com/cast/index.html?cast

as the command is working for me:
Image

(Although right now - Sunday morning at 8am - the internet-radio service itself doesn't seem to be working)

To check the version of the program you are using, please just type:

cast -about
User avatar
Warrior
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:19 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by Warrior »

Yep - 1.2
Cast 2.jpg
Cast 2.jpg (143.57 KiB) Viewed 7348 times
User avatar
Warrior
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:19 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by Warrior »

Wait - I think I found it.

Hang on ...
================
Edit - Bingo

I copied and pasted your text from above.

The text you posted has invalid quotation marks in it. They appear as blocks and thus make it fail.

I retyped it in using quotes from my keyboard and away it went. Try copying and pasting your text from above and it'll fail.

Anyway, fixed now.
RobLatour
Site Admin
Posts: 1003
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:43 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by RobLatour »

ok - glad it's working.

Enjoy!
User avatar
Warrior
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:19 am

Re: CAST playing PLS Streams ?

Post by Warrior »

Yeah works well now for those internet stations. 8-)

I am trying to get my own radio station streaming on it now - It says it's streaming, and Google Home says it's playing, but there's no sound.

The sound works from other stations - Just not my station.
I normally stream my station via a pls link into Winamp.

Maybe a Google Home issue ?

Network received: 210061 bytes
Server: SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server/win32 v1.9.7
Content-Type: audio/aacp
Metadata received: 89 bytes
Metadata interval: 8192 bytes
Stream name: Fm One
Current title: Presidents of the USA - Shortwave
Post Reply